All births and deaths that occur in Malheur County are registered at the Malheur County Health Department by our Vital Records Team.
Certified copies of these records are available for purchase up until 6 months from the date of the event. Vital records may be obtained in person at the Malheur County Health Department, while you wait, by appointment only.
Vital records are considered to be very confidential and can only be released to those legally eligible to receive them. Birth records are confidential for 100 years from the date of birth and death records are confidential for 50 years from the date of death.
Birth or death records cost $25 for each certificate
In order of preference, we accept cash, debit/credit card, money order or personal check made payable to Malheur County Health Department.
To schedule an appointment, call us at (541) 889-7279.
Original birth certificates contain very important information often used for establishing identification, school enrollment, youth sports, driver’s license, insurance, housing, passports, etc.
Birth records can be released to legally eligible family members (parents, grandparents, brothers/sisters), legal representative or government agencies.
To Order a Birth Certificate
- Current picture ID for the person ordering the birth record.
- Child’s Souvenir Certificate from hospital
- Complete Order Form
Original death certificates contain very important information often required for life insurance, estates, bank accounts, vehicle ownership, land ownership, pension, social security, etc.
Death records can be released to legally eligible family members (parents, grandparents, brothers/sisters), legal representatives or to persons or agencies with a personal or property right. If you are not a family member or have a personal or property right, you will need a notarized permission note from a legally eligible family member.
Most commonly, families work with the funeral home to receive death records.
Minimizing Barriers and Providing Equitable Care
- We strive to maintain a welcoming and trauma-informed work environment that reflects and supports the racial and ethnic diversity of our participants, partners and community.
- Assess and assist with additional referrals to meet the needs of the population we serve.
- Bilingual and bicultural staff available to provide adequate services.
- Provide quality and unbiased services to everyone regardless of their socially determined circumstances.
- Phone: (541) 889-7279
- Fax: (541) 889-8468
State law only allows County offices to issue certified copies of vital records within 6 months of a birth or death. After 6 months, requests for birth and death certificates must be made from the Oregon Health Authority Center for Health Statistics.
Oregon State Orders Hotline: 888-896-4988
Oregon State Order online: www.vitalchek.com
Oregon State General Information: 971-673-1190
Oregon State FAX: 971-673-1201
Oregon State TTY: 711